Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: grades encourage students to learn. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

The present day school system always evaluates students by their grades or marks. The more marks a child gets shows that the student is very bright and intelligent. Hence, I agree with the statement that grades or marks encourage students to learn. It encourages them to excel in their studies as well as achieve their goals.

Grades are very important in schools. A student is promoted to their next level based on the grades they get. So getting good marks encourages and motivates students to excel in their class. Starting from kindergarten, children like to get awards and be recognized. Once a student gets good marks and get recognized for his marks, then he will always strive to get high marks and be recognized. This is because getting recognized as a good and bright child will make him happy as well as boosts his confidence. My daughter herself is a perfect example to this. She is a very active child and sitting down for studying is very difficult for her. But during her initial school years, she got good grades and this always encouraged her to sit down and study well and get recognized.

Moreover, today, admission to all the graduate or undergraduate courses are based on some standardized tests. So for students to achieve their dreams or goals of becoming a doctor or engineer or any other professional, he/she has to get good grades and pass their respective tests. Hence these grades or marks encourages them to learn well for achieving their dreams. For example, while preparing for GRE exam, students have to learn a lot to get high grades which are required to get admissions to prestigious universities or colleges.

However, we shouldn't neglect the fact that there are instances where marks have made students to loose their confidence. Continuously getting a bad grade affects the students in a very negative way. They don't feel like studying and also loose their confidence.

To put in a nutshell, grades always have motivated students to learn more, be confident and achieve their goals. Moreover, it also helps to distinguish students based on their intellectual.