Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Advertising can tell you a lot about a country Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

In the present world, advertisements play a very important role in marketing. We can see a myriad of ways in which people use advertisement to promote and sell a product. Advertising companies do a great deal of market analysis before they introduce any product into market via advertisements. The content of advertisement varies from country to country and so I agree with the fact that the content of advertisements can tell us a lot about that country.

First, advertising helps us to know a lot about the economy and the needs of the majority of population in a country. For example, when I visited America, I was surprised to see that most of the commercials on TV was about medical equipment and medicines and also about insurance companies trying to encourage people to file lawsuits against companies to get compensation. On analysis, I understood that, in America, there is vast majority of old age people for whom these medicines and medical equipment are very important. However, in India, one will not notice these many commercials about medicines and medical equipment. In India, the advertisements are usually about cars and common household items like soap, detergents and others. This is because majority of population in India are common people.

Secondly, advertising reflects the economy of a country. No two countries are exactly and hence it is obviously meaningless to introduce the same products in two countries. The products introduced in a developed country is very different from that of an underdeveloped country. For instance, it will be quite meaningless to advertise about medical equipment or insurance companies in the under developed countries of Asia or Africa. Also, if many high tech facilities and travelling tips are advertised more frequently, then it means that the country's economy is very developed .

Finally, one can also understand the cultures and etiquette of a country by watching these commercials. Commercials always show people interacting with each other. It also come with meaningful messages on how to behave with others or what are considered inappropriate. Also, it our culture. For example, during Diwali, many new commercials are shown, depicting the importance of Diwali and many culture events associated with it like lighting the lamps, gifting each other, everyone coming together as a family and celebrating and many others. So watching these advertisements help us to obtain knowledge about the culture of a country.

In conclusion, content of advertisements change based on the country as advertisements are made after a lot of market analysis to suit to the needs of the majority of population in that country. Hence advertisements gives us a lot of information about the economy or culture of that particular country.