Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Friends play a very important role in our life. Just like parents, they are our strength and support system. We make many friends when we are young and as we grow older we make new set of friends. In my opinion, it is not a matter of more importance. We should always keep old friends who are close to our heart and also, make new friends in our life. Hence I disagree with people who think keeping old friends is better than making new friends.

Indeed old friends will always be close to us. They have known us for a very long period of time and they know us well - they know how we behave or react, what are our emotions and ideas, what are our likes and dislikes. Also, we can always trust them and look up to them when we are in a very difficult situation. For example, I have a very close friend from school. Starting from my elementary school we were the best friends and she is the only person in my life who I can call and talk or ask for any advice at any time of the day , without any hesitation. Though our paths were different and now we live in different countries, we always call and talk to each other and talking to her relaxes my mind and refreshes me.

However, there are many old friends who we will lose contact after some time and we make new friends in their place in the course of time. We will learn a lot of new things from these new friends; they might have a different culture or may be from a different place or have a very different ideology. We also learn to interact with new people which will give us new experiences and become open-mindedness. For instance, when I went to my higher studies in a different country, initially I didn't know anybody there. Slowly, I made a number of friends who were very helpful and they helped to understand culture and etiquette of that country. Some of these friends have always stayed with me and even now , after 10 years, we still contact each other and share our feelings and experiences.

To conclude, in my opinion, all friends are equally good, be it our old friends or new friends. We should be able to understand true and real friendship and maintain it.