Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people.

A relation is built upon many factors or considerations . People look for considerations like honesty, understanding each other, love and loyalty in every relationship and for each person the importance of these factors may vary. Although all these factors are important in a relationship, I believe honesty is the most pivotal. For me, if a person is dishonest , I would not be able to deal with that person and would not like continue the relationship with him/her.

For a strong relationship to grow and keep up, it needs to have trust between people, be it in a friendship or marriage. If we come to know that the other person is not being truthful and is deceiving us, then we will loose confidence in them and every conversation will be looked upon with suspicion. I would not like to continue such a relationship. I can give an example from my life. During my teenage years, I had a very good friend with whom I used to share everything be it my feelings, my secrets, my happiness or my sorrows. But one day I came to know that she is telling others what I have confided in her. So I lost my confidence in her and hence I stopped telling her about my feelings or secrets.

Similarly, I give at most importance to telling truth in a marriage. Partners should be able to talk to each other about everything and be truthful. A single instance of dishonesty will bring cracks to the relationship. In such a relationship, people will not be happy and the relationship might even result in a separation. For example, one of my friends had a very serious affair before marriage but she did not want her husband to know about it and so she didn't tell to him about it. She was afraid her husband might end their relationship on knowing that. However, after few years, her husband came to know about it and he was very angry that she didn't tell him the truth. Their marriage is on the verge of a divorce. If she had told him the truth before marriage, this might not have been the case.

In conclusion, being truthful is a key factor in every relationship. Telling truth helps to built confidence between people and will also strengthen the relationship.