Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Grades (marks) encourage students to learn. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

We all go to school in order to learn more that help us to lead a better life and ensures us a decent job. Now, the question is that which does actually lead students to learn more? It’s true that teachers give effort in effective teaching so that students can learn more, but it is not enough. In my opinion, giving grades in exams is more efficient way that students learn more at least than learn without grading system.

First, when students take grade they can identify where they make mistake for which they get poor grade, and do more practice to correct errors they do. By this process, they would be able to absorb more information, at the same time repeated practices make it easy in memorizing all knowledge for long time. My own experience is a compelling example of this. When I was a student in school, one of my teacher gave grades on our daily performance ( quiz tests). I can remember that we all had excitation about the grade that we had got; tried to got the highest marks. Therefore, doing more practices, we could perform better in exam which really helps us to learn more on the specific topics.

Second, receiving a good grade, students feel more confident that they will do better in the next exam which ultimately encourage them to learn even more.

For a student, confidence is critical thing to absorb more knowledge. Think about it, if a student who has lack of confidence on his inherent quality feeling guilty for lacking confidence, is he would be able to learn more? No! He thinks that he can’t do better in exams; in consequence he would give up to make further effort to learn more. So, to increase confidence and enthusiasm within students, it is important to give them grades. For instance, one of my friends in school always suffered from lacking enough confidence on him, as a result he felt pain that all of us would do better in exam without him. Therefore, he started to give up studying daily; indeed he failed. I think that if he would get grade regularly, at least he could compare with other students and could able to build a confidence that he also would be able to do better in exam. And then, he would not give up doing more practice rather would be encouraged to learn more.

In conclusion, I strongly admit that grading system is of paramount importance to increase the encouragement in students as it is essential for students to identify errors and uplift confidence level.