Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Grades (marks) encourage students to learn. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion

It is critically important for the students to seek knowledde as much as it could possible for them . In my opinion, I think grades encourage students to learn more. In the following essay I intend to put forth my arguments to support my view.

To begin with, when the students are graded it provokes them to study more profoundly which means it increases their knowldege and learning skills. The students are very much motivated for learning when they know they are rewarded with grades. So, grades are a good way to motivate the students to seek more knowledge. To exemplify, in my sophomore year I had to made a project on a unique chemical molecule. This project was very important for the chemistry subject as it was graded and 50% of the marks included in the final exam. Therefore, I did my project with more care and spent enough time to study. I did thorough research about the subject and wrote details more comprehensively. It helped me increase my knowledge and I learned a plenty about the unique molecular entities. I would never have study the subject so deeply if the project would never be graded for final exams.

In addition, grades encourage student to study because they are a way to determine which people are good at studies. The grade system defines student's intelligence in an objectively manner. My own experience is a compelling illustration of this. In a sophomore year of university, I took the class of Islamic studies where students get pass or fail at the end. To pass in this subject moderate amount of effort is required so I did not study the subject very well. I study the subject in a brief manner so I was able to clear my subject. However, if I compare my subjects which were graded properly by teachers I studied it profoundly. I spent time, did thorough research for subjects, so that I could get good grades and appear as bright student in the class.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that grades motivate student to study and learn more. This is because grade system differentiate the student intelligence in an objective manner, and because it encourage people to study profoundly.