Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to be a member of a group than to be the leader of a group. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Working in groups, is an important factor of our lives. No matter our field of expertise or working environment we need to collaborate with others to turn in successful assignments. Hence, many student and workers debate if it is better to stay as a regular member or become the leader of the group. I believe it is better to be a member of the group instead of becoming the leader. I will explain my reasoning in the following essay.

First, managing a group is a time consuming task. Leaders of a team need to understand and communicate with group members, delegate tasks, and make changes based on different situations, which may take a long time. For example, I led a group for an English assignment in my last year of university. At first I communicated with the members about their capabilities and then delegated tasks to each of them based on their answers. After a while two of the members asked for a different part because their current tasks were harder than they assumed, which led to me helping them to understand and finish their parts. Therefore, I had to spend more time covering for and helping my teammates so we could present an acceptable assignment.

Second, the leader is held accountable for all misdeeds. The leader of a group is responsible for all members and needs to make sure that the assigned work is done perfectly. So, whenever there is a mishap the one answering to the complaints and shouldering all the blame is the leader. For example, a friend of mine was the leader of a dance group. Her team had a member named Rose that didn't cooperate with her, she had to go around looking for her and dragging her to the practice room, encouraging her to keep on training. Later on despite her endeavors Rose did very badly on their assessment day and she was held accountable and shouted at, even though she tried her best and all the other members did pretty well. Likewise, the one answering to the complaints is the leader even if the failure is not their fault.

In conclusion, I believe it is better to be a member of the team rather than the leader. Because, leaders need to spend a lot more time and effort for each assignment than their fellow members and are held accountable for all losses.