Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to be a member of a group than to be the leader of a group. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Being the leader of a group gives people a myriad of amenities, such as particular social status and feeling of success. However, I personally think that it is better to be a member of a group than to be the leader of a group. The reasons I hold this stance will be elaborated in the paragraphs bellow.

One of the reasons is that a member of a group has fewer responsibilities. The member has assigned duties and must follow them. After performing job`s commitments the member can be free and enjoy his live. Moreover, nowadays, employers do not like their regular workers to work overtime, which means that when the shift is over they have to clock out and live the work`s environment. If the member of the team stays late at work, he can be punished. Conversely, the leader very often required to work overtime to get all projects done, which is indispensable in case to keep the job. To that end, a member of a group has more free time to devote it to enjoyable things.

Another reason is that life of a regular member of a group is not so stressful. The member does not have to think about results of the team`s work in the degree that the leader does. The leader crafts projects and ensure the time frame to accomplish them. If the group fails to attain the goal, most of the time the leader is liable for the drawback, but not the members. Although in the group everybody has to be concerned of the team`s success, not everyone performs his duty in appropriate manner. So, life of the leader is sometimes very complicated and full of emotional discomfort.

To recapitulate, I feel that it is more advantageous to be a member of a group than to be the leader. This is because the member has more free time to enjoy life and do not exposed to stress as much as the leader does. All things considered it is reasonable to assume that it is better to be a regular member of a team.