Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to be above average at many things than be excellent at one thing. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The technologies like mobile phones, computers, and the internet made life easier. With the internet, people can learn new skills and even can master one skill at any time and anywhere. Some people believe that mastering one thing is imperative. In my opinion, It's better to be above average in many things. I feel this way for several reasons which, I will mention in the following essay.

Firstly, there are a lot of other things which are critically important for growth. The person mastering the one things unable to tackle the problems issues related to things. For instance, if a person set his goal to crack the UPSC exam, devoted two years to prepare, and didn't learn any other skill during the year. By doing so the person can qualify exam but failed to learn other important which are essential for the development of personality.

Secondly, learning many things helps the person to avoid a monotonous life. No one wants a dull boring life, but if the person masters one thing then life becomes tedious. They have no choice left rather than to continue the same kind of work over and over again. One of the great advantages of learning many things is that the person has many options to explore other things, and can test his/her own abilities.

In conclusion, it's better to above average at many things than be excellent at on thing. It's better to take risk then to live monotonous life.