Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The old wise men of ancient history were known because of their ability to be highlighted on different fields. today, the current state of scientifical advances diminished this way of accumulating knowledge due to how far we have gotten on many specific topics. Consequently, I believe that having a deep knowledge of a specific academic subject is better than a shallow knowledge on a variety of topics. I support my place with the following three reasons.

First, by dominating a single topic one can be then referred as an expert in that area. The more specialized you are, the better your prospects are since today most enterprises look forward specific topics. Being focused on one area o domain enables a person to be competitive. my personal experience is a compelling example of this. when I started my Physics major, I was greatly amazed by how everything worked and so wanted to learn a bit from every field. As I matured in my career, I realized that while I had a lot of topics to talk about, I wasn't competitive at all since I couldn't consider myself an expert. I then decided to focus on one specific area of study and this helped me become an expert. The ability earned allowed me to get a great job in a highly competitive market.

Secondly, a superficial knowledge can be misleading most of the times. when knowing too little about any topic, most of the details are often left out of the core concepts. For instance, I have a friend from college that proposed to himself he would learn the most he can of every geophysics area. while he managed to learn a handful of topics ranging from seismic sciences to astrophysics, he didn't understand most of the core concepts that were base on deeper definitions. having a widespread knowing didn't help him get on the most specialized positions, making him realize of the mistake he made.

Another important reason for specializing is that you can rely on some expert to solve a problem that you might be struggling with relatively ease. For example, if it weren't for the plumbers we might have to fix our own sewage of water connections without warranty of success. By having highly specialized trained professionals on the market, we can solve problems without further complications. this, in turn, enables the active movement of well trained professionals in the market.

In conclusion, a profound wisdom of a specific topic is preferable over little knowledge about a variety of topics. this is because as specialist we can be referred as experts which in turn enables us to better life prospects, and without any kind misinformation we can succeed in our domain.