Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to have a broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I agree with the notion that it is more beneficial to have broad knowledge about a subject rather than focusing on certain topic as it can create a situation which can limit the possibilities of both knowledge and career. Let us better understand and absorb the idea how obtaining a wider range of knowledge can be beneficial to a person. First and foremost, learning a wide range of concepts in any field of knowledge can help a learner to be more practical and useful to others all while avoiding redundancy due to too much specialization. For instance, it can be seen that in the long term a professional such as a chemical engineer or a doctor will benefit more from having known a wider range of concepts and ideas rather than specializing too much and missing out on certain information which is considered to be basic by most others. This will eliminate the possibility of the person's occupation going entirely extinct. Therefore, a chemical engineer learns all sorts of topics from valve operations to discoveries of new methods of generating energy or novel sources of energy. Such a profession always requires and challenges the individual to be aware of as many things as possible since these roles can be very demanding and only a few percent of the population ever have the capacity or the will to take up such roles with harsh working conditions. Further, a doctor needs to know about as much medicinal treatments as possible to be able to treat a wide variety of patients and thus serve the society better, rather than specializing in certain type of surgery which can lead to a dearth of doctors in the world who can treat a common disease effectively. Secondly, the process is obtaining knowledge is also dependent upon the amount of interest shown by the person towards learning in-depth about a topic, which generally tends to go lower as one progresses through any concept due to the increasing complexity and the lack of novelty. This leads to inefficiency of learning and often boredom takes over the control and the learner tends to lose patients. But, if the opposite is done and the learning is continued only till it is practical and deep enough and then is then switched with another subject and so on, then the total amount of useful information learnt will be significantly higher and also the memory and interest in learning will be boosted in such a case. It is therefore clear why many people do not pursue higher levels of education even if they have the resources to do so. For example, school education includes all kinds of subjects and topics and not just one subject is taught to any student for his entire school life. This is because the relation between the depth of knowledge and the practicality of its application is inversely proportional. Therefore, it will be viable to conclude that learning in a specific stream should be discontinued after a certain time to pursue other streams.