It is better to have a broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to specialize in one specific subject.

As our today’s world is uninterruptedly developing, the determining role of knowledge cannot be denied. Although the knowledge indisputable paves the way to achieve an easy life, there has always been a controversial issue among scholars over the idea of whether having a wide knowledge of many academic subjects overweigh specializing in one particular subject or vice versa. I firmly hold the notion that people should gain widespread knowledge in various subject matters instead of just mastering one particular filed, the two compelling reasons of which are elaborated in the following essay.

To begin with, given the competitive environment of the business world, almost companies and institutes today are willing to employ individuals who are not one-dimensional, which mean that they can cope with multiple careers simultaneously. As most corporations are willing to optimize their operations and reduce additional costs, they try to integrate a few related special fields to employ fewer multi-speciality people. My own experience can be a compelling example of what I mean. Last year while I and my classmate were looking for a job position in relating to my academic field following our graduation, we emailed our resume to several eminent companies. My friend invited to much more employment interviews than me due to he was a specialist in two other academic field such as computer science and French language. Although we were both eventually hired, he could engage immediately in the best company in our country with a higher salary than mine. This example indicates why mastering and specializing in at least one another academic field in addition to our own subject can provide people with much more employment opportunities in their future life.

Secondly, learning several academic fields can help people to become professional person in their future special subject. Indeed, many individuals master-skilled in their special field in the world are those who have some knowledge of other fields and have the ability to deal with the problems of their expertise. For example, sports coaches at the professional level have sufficient mastery of psychology and physical sciences to overcome the problems that arise for his own team and players. Moreover, mastering an international language is an essential characteristic for a politician who works in the cosmopolitan politic area in addition to profound focusing in their special field. As a result of this, learning several academic fields can even help people to become more professional in their specific subjects.

In a nutshell, having considered all the aforementioned reasons, I am of the opinion that it is preferred for people to learn many academic fields than being mastered in one specific field. Not only does it provide people with many opportunities in hiring in the best affairs, but it also even helps them become more professional in their special fields.