When teachers assign projects on which students must work together, the students learn much more effectively than when they are asked to work alone on projects.

In today’s progressive world where we live, the education system and learning process of students have been revolutionized. In this regard, there has always been a controversial debate among teachers and practitioners over the issue that whether students learn more effectively when they engage in group work or while they are asked to do the assignment by themselves. Personally speaking, I hold the view that doing assignments and projects in a teamwork setting will increase the learnability of students. My viewpoint is based on a few reasons, two of which are elaborated upon hereunder.

The first vital point to bear in mind is that in a group setting, group members can have a supportive and incentive impact on the learning of each other. It is no secret to anyone that when students know they are not alone in facing the difficulties and the problems of projects, they are motivated and encouraged to implement their all endeavour so that their group will become successful. In this vein, positive motivation can reinforce students’ learning productivity since they feel comfortable asking unfamiliar concepts of the course material from each other rather than their teacher. Under this circumstance, not only can teamwork help students improve their learning efficiency, but it also can strengthen their relationship. However, by working alone on projects, students might be despondent in encountering the first failure or the strain of tasks. Instead of doing all the work by ourselves, others can support us and take one part of the project if teamwork is provided.

Furthermore, one other considerable advantage of working together on a school project is opinion- and ideas-sharing with one another. Indeed, when a project is allocated to a group, each one of its member might have its own way or idea in solving and reaching the desirable result, whether the ideas and opinions are wrong or correct. In this way, by sharing ideas and opinions, a group can achieve a single perfect outcome and prevent falling in a false direction, which can lead to time-wasting and irrecoverable/uncompensated costs. To put it in other words, by engaging on a group basis, students are provided with the opportunities to complement each other and cover one another’s weaknesses and mistakes. Thus, this way can equip students with various creative ideas to deal with the problems which give them a hand to be aware of exquisite ways and solutions to cope with the project. As a result of sharing the opinions, students in a group can extend their mind and improve their learning by exchanging ideas and opinion which come to minds.

To put it in a nutshell, having considered all the aforementioned reasons, I do believe that it is a more beneficial learning method for students to do their assignments or projects in a group setting instead of doing it alone. Not only bring about this approach motivate and encourage students to accomplish their task and assignment better, but it also can result in sharing ideas and thoughts which is effective in extending minds and learning better.