Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The extended family (grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles) is less important now than it was in the past. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I disagree with the notion that the distant relatives are less important today. I believe that the family members who are not immediate relatives still play a crucial role in a person's life, though it is true that in many families they have been separated by distance more than that in the past. But this does not mean that their contribution to an individual's life has changed. First and foremost, the extended family is bound together by ancestral ties and cannot be separated very easily as they actively play a role in each others lives regularly or occasionally, if not on a daily basis. For instance, people tend to visit each other or their native place on a festival as festivals are meant for the purpose of bringing people together every now and then. I personally visit my uncle and my grandparents on every major festival in a year as they are the ones who took care of me when I was a baby and played a part in my life as I grew up. Thus, they are as important to me as my parents if not more. Secondly, it is crucial for a person to be surrounded by their family members on a regular basis to have a positive effect on their mood, social interaction and life itself. Sharing with each other the important moments that occurred during the periods when they did not meet is a great experience for both parties as they get an opportunity to catch up with each other and lead to a boost in everyone's energy to move forward in the journey of life. It can be seen as a situation where a person gets their emotional battery charged with positivity and the care and love of their close ones. For example, whenever my grandmother visits her village, which is her birthplace, she gets overly energetic and feels much better than she feels regularly when living with me and my family in the city. On the one hand, she feels bored of living in the congested apartment in the city spending most of her days inside the apartment doing banal tasks and on the other hand, she gets excited and charged with positivity when she knows that it is now that time of the year when she would get to visit her childhood neighbors and distant family which took care of her during her harsh childhood. This highlights how important it is still today to keep in touch with the distant relatives. Thirdly, it is as important for a person to maintain contact with their extended family as it is to meet new people. This is because they are the ones who truly care about you and are more likely to support you in your times of need. Therefore, interacting with them and being present for them is necessary for living a satisfactory life. Further, there is a case where one of my dad's friend's father-in-law willingly gifted a city apartment to his son-in-law out of love and respect which the man showed towards them by accepting and caring them as if they were his own parents, besides proving to be a great husband to his wife. Therefore, it will not be wrong to say that distant relatives are a important part of our lives even today.