Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

A student can be influenced by several factors while in school but teachers and friends have the most effect on a student. Though, I believe that the peers and the friends have a greater influence on a student's behavior. First and foremost, a student spends the most of their time with either the classmates or other friends from outside the institution. This leads to adopting only certain behaviors and attitudes from them if not all as the more time a student spends with his friends the more he understands about the views and choices of his classmates. A student thereby, adopts the attributes which appeal the most to him rather than listening to the ideas professed by the teachers. Further, the students feel much more sympathy towards other students who are their same age and thus have more in common with each other to discuss and believe in. This leads to them believing in each other more than in their professors and the like-minded tend to be grouped together while usually opposing the authority and its rules. Hence, it can be observed that certain groups of students behave like delinquents while others tend to follow the teachings of their professors. This happens mainly due to the way in which human brains are wired. Secondly, it can be seen that students can better express their feelings and ideas about anything to their friends rather than the teachers who are adults and with whom the students feel less comfort and attachment to. To illustrate this I will provide an example from my own life. When I was studying in my engineering college I once bunked a class and went to play cricket with my classmates and in doing so indirectly opposed the rules of the institution for which we were reproached. Thus, this example shows why a student can agree more with his peers than with the teachers. Also, once it so happened that I could not understand a physics concept when I was still studying in school. I got a better understanding about the topic from my best-friend than from my professor as I was less comfortable in opening up to my teacher and because my friend better understood what was actually escaping my understanding as he himself had faced it being a student. Thirdly, it is in human nature to influence and be influenced by a group to which the individual belongs. Thus, behaviors like obstructing and revolting a teacher during a lecture to gain favor, liking and respect of the fellow classmates is more common than the actions when students actually follow a teacher's commands and agree with them. It is also possible that the students only see their friends as the reason for going to school and are still swimming in safe waters where they are unaware about the vast, challenging and ever changing world that lies beyond student life. Thus their inexperience can also be the reason why they usually tend to ignore the teacher's instructions or the warnings and advices of the elders in general. Although, this is true there are still many students who agree with their teachers and some also see them as their role models. To conclude, I am of the opinion that students are much more influenced by their friends than by their teachers.