Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

While there can be differences in opinion among the people in society regarding the choice whether old friends are to be given preference or that one should focus on connecting with new people, i believe that making new friends continuously is very crucial to us humans. To support this i will present a few examples from my own life. First and foremost, no one should stop making new friends just because they are loyal to you today. Instead one must keep building fresh relationships as life progresses as this is not only beneficial for the brain but also that people must remain socially active to maintain and even upgrade their social skills which are the most crucial in anyone's life. I, for instance have shifted my home from one city to another as life progressed and in the process have lost many cherished friends whom i had spent a great deal of time with. But, this doesn't mean that stopped making new acquaintances or forming deep bonds with new people through my journey. In fact, i now have more friends than earlier and thus more connections in this world to whom i can turn to in need. Thus, if i would have just cornered myself and had refused to meet new people there is very low chance that i would have achieved any success in my education and also my life would have been utterly dull. Secondly, active socialising is essential for the mind as it is scientifically proved that spending time with new people has significant impact on the brain and body chemistry in form of the release of certain hormones in the blood stream which promote the well-being of the mind and can even generate happy moods thoroughly kicking away any chances of depression and loneliness. I have personally encountered such situations in which i felt lonesome and gloomy as i had to move away from my home place to a new, alien environment where i knew nobody and no one knew me. But i mustered up some courage and finally made new friends through sports which pulled me out instantly out of the vacuum i was in earlier. These new people that i met even proved useful to me and i learnt about things which i needed the most. Therefore, making new friends is utterly beneficial to an individual not only in terms of mood but also in terms of usefulness.