Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to make friends with intelligent people than with the people who have a good sense of humor.

There is no doubt that our friends make one of the most important part of our social life. We spend a lot of of our time with our friends at work and home then it definitely has a big effect on our personality. While some people believe that a good sense of humor is very important in a friend, others, like me, think that being intelligent is a more valuable virtue in a friend. In the following essay I will elaborate on my opinion.

First of all, you can learn from an intelligent friend a lot. Almost all the time, an intelligent people have many other good character such as knowledgeable, honest, and trustable. They provide a productive rapport surrounding their relatives and help other people to improve their virtues. To put this in perspective, when I was in university, a friend of mine, who was a smart and moral pupil in our college, helped other student in each part that they need and he could. I remember that all semester before the finals he started a problem-solving session in mathematics and chemistry for all students that they need to prepare themselves for exams. Not only did he help people in lessons but also he was a very good speaker and from those conversations many of us learnt many other social skills.

Secondly, intelligent friends are excellent advisors. Based on their knowledge and analyzing power they are able to propose valuable suggestion for their funs. As friends are usually at the same age, they understand each other better than a smart guy in this context can see the world through the same window as their peers. And actually they can advise other guys better than parents or counselors most of the time. My personal example can illustrate this notion in a conspicuous way. After graduation from the college of pharmacy, I had two job opportunities to select, a retail pharmacy in my home town and a hospital pharmacist job in a city far from me. I hesitated to choose which one, after consulting with one of my sharp-minded friend who he worked in a pharmacy company, I selected the hospital job because of his practical advise about the work environment and importance of making a good network with other peers. Finally, after working several years in the hospital pharmacy I could promote as a manager position in a chain-hospital which cover multi-states in my country. Had I not applied his suggestion, I could not have be in this good job rank right now.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that an intelligent friend is a gemstone, and it is a more valuable character than sense of humor in a friend. This is because you can learn many things from a smart fun and because they are the best advisor for their peers.