Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: “It is better to read books on an electronic device than it is to read traditional books on paper.

Thanks to development of technology, we all now have all things in the electronic format such as games, magazines, books etc. While some people prefer to be updated and read books on mobile phones or tablets, others would rather keep reading traditional paper books. I personally would prefer to read printed books. What are the differences between electronic books and printed ones? I will explain my reasons in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, by reading on a tablet or cellphone, there would be so many distractions such as notifications of different applications like Instagram, Facebook or phone calls which will not allow the reader to concentrate. Besides, paper books are more accessible because everyone can carry them without needing any complements. For example, electronic devices need charger or access to internet which are not in access anywhere and at anytime. Drawing from my own experience, when I was a kid, I used to read science fictions books in my leisure time therefore I had to bring them wherever I go. Once my family and I were going to a rain forests trip I decided to read online version of my books because we had limitations in the weight of our carriage. but at our destination there were neither plugs to charge my phone nor internet. As a result, I could not read anything and I did not enjoy that trip. For this reason, I believe that traditional book are better than electronics.

On the other hand, it is not healthy for eyes to be in contact with e-devices for a period of time. According to recent studies, in the last decades, eye problems specifically low vision have been increased due to over using of tablets and laptops. also, scientists have warn that if people do not control their amount of using these devices, societies will be facing new generation with eye defects. For example, one of the researches in this subject has explained in details that working more than 2 hours a day can spoil vessels in the eye which are responsible for carrying blood to the cells. so, in the long run eye cells will be destroyed. one of the best ways to reduce working with electronic devices is to read printed books.

In the light of above-mentioned reasons, I strongly believe that not only reading traditional book is good but also it is better for health.