Do you agree or disagree with the following statement People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment doing things they like to do rather than doing things they should do Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

No one can deny that spending free time on interesting games or enterntainments is essential for every human beings. While some think that people spend too much time on their hobbies and leisure time instead of doing their duties, I believe that not only people have not increased their recreational activities but also they are working a lot more than they should. Why are individuals working more these days? I will explain my reasons in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, by development of technologies, the cost of life has increased. Therefore, people have to enhace their efforts to earn more money. For example, in 1980s in Newyork city, the father of a large family could afford a house by his monthly income, but these days a house costs a hand and a leg and a couple can only pay their rent by their monthly payments. As a result, people need to increase their working-time in order to manage their lives' cost. Consequently, no one has time to spend for enjoyment.

Secondly, professionalism is becoming important and companies prefer to hire employees who are professional on a specific task which is time demanding and does not allow employees to spare time for hobbies. Thus, most of the people, specially youth, are studying hard to become professional in a particular field in order to find a career. Drawing from my own experience, as a dentist, in order to establish trust and make more contarcts with different dental insurances, I have to increase my skills and be updated by new methods of treatments which is very time consuming. Hence, although I always loved to join art clubs, I have never had enough time for that. For this reason, spending too much time on personal enjoyment is not possible these days.

In the light of above-mentioned reasons, I strongly believe that people do not spend time on fun activities most of their time.