Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to use printed material such as books and articles to do research than it is to use the internet. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is no doubt that research is an essential and vital part of each university student life. Almost each semester students make at least one research. Some individuals argue that even with the great development in technology we are seeing these days, and with the presence of the internet, printed material such as books and magazines are still the best tools to do research; others disagree. In my point of view, I believe that the internet helps perform research more effectively and efficiently than ever been before for two fundamental reasons, which I will explain in the following essay.

To begin with, using the internet is cheaper to do research than buying books and articles. Of course, any research needs lots of information and references to look after. As a result, if you expect that the information you need exists in specific books, you might have to buy them. To illustrate this idea let us consider the following example. I remember when I was sophomore, studying civil engineering at Jordan University of Science and Technology back here in Irbid, I took the strength of material subject. My professor requested research from each one in the class. When I went to the library seeking some related papers, I found no one of them. Instead of buying them, I used the google scholar engine and with few seconds I was able to use them. As we can see, using the internet to do research is usually cheaper than printed materials.

Secondly, using the internet will save lots of time and energy, which are two important things for each student. Admittedly, even a small piece of information will be time-consuming if we use books to find it. Return back to the aforementioned example, I remember for that research I had to read fifteen papers and three books to find some results. You can imagine how many hours I saved by using google engines that allowed me to access these results with some clicks instead of reading papers and books from cover to cover. Moreover, it avoided me made a huge effort in seeking these materials from one library to another. This experience taught me that the internet is the most efficient tool to do research.

In conclusion, the internet has greatly facilitated the student's lives. Besides saving a huge cost and energy, the internet has made it easier than ever before to reach and access any information and knowledge you need in all aspects of education and for all educational members, students and instructors alike. We should use the internet and encourage our freshmen to use it, too.