Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to use printed material such as books and articles to do research than it is to use the internet. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Books and printed materials always look rich and luxurious. Many nice old memories burst in our minds when we touch them. I usually prefer to read novels from books as it gives me a unique experience. However, when it comes to research, I inevitably prefer using the internet. I tend to this opinion for multiple reasons that I will go through in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, Research requires exploring a huge amount of information from a variety of resources. Through the internet, we can do this by the tip of our hand and most of the time for a minimal amount of money. On the other hand, If we tried to do this using printed materials, It will be very expensive so we will be obliged to limit ourselves to a certain budget. In addition, even If our budget allowed us in one research to massively explore as many books as we eager to, we will not be able to afford it for the others especially if you are a student who has to develop more than one research each semester. My personal experience is the main influence of my opinion. This year, I started a six sigma online diploma on Coursera website, which required reading specific chapters from three different books and exploring some others. I wasn’t able to buy all of these materials because mainly they were expensive, and I felt that It is a waste of money to buy books that will be used for a few times. While searching the internet, I found that the three books are available on Scribd website, with only 10$ subscription fee and even thirty days free trial before paying. This was a life-saving solution. Since then, I became sure that the internet is the best tool for researching.

Another vital reason for preferring the Internet is that It is significantly easier to find a piece of information on the internet that finding it in a book. All what you need are some precise keywords related to your area of research, and amazing detailed results will pop up on your screen in a few seconds. Contrarily, you may need to read the whole book to come out with a tiny piece of information, especially if it is not a headline or a topic stated in the index. I remember my younger sister in her first year in political science school, was asked to make a research about the Egyptian pound fluctuation. As a matter of truth, she didn’t even know which books she has to search! By using the internet, her task became so easy. She started to search widely for the main topic and then she traced the books speaking thoroughly about her topic, ending up by an A grade research. Her limited knowledge about the research subject did not act as an impediment only because of the internet.