Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to use printed material such as books and articles to do research than it is to use the internet. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Finding the proper content for a research is very important. While some people may say that internet has a lot of advantages and is better than printed material, others might disagree. In my view, internet has a lot of advantages over printed material and I am going to explain why.

First, internet is easily accessible. Internet allows researchers to access loads of resources and articles anywhere and anytime. It also enables them to browse more quickly and efficiently and with less time spent on commuting to libraries, they can spend their time on their research. Also, the intelligence of the algorythms can help them find related materials and articles more easily. For example, during the months that I had to do my thesis research, I used a lot of online resources. At first I tried the university libraries, but there were a lot of problems. First, I couldn’t find many of the books that I wanted because other students had borrowed them. Second, I had to spend a lot of time searching between rows of books and remain quiet te whole time which was quite tiring and frustrating. As a result, I decided to limit the number of paper book resources and instead use the internet to find what I was looking for. And it turned out to be more efficient, since I could easily find them while at home. Also I found a lot of books and metrials which were completely new and I discovered them with the help of the algorythms used in search engines. As you can see, my work accelerated because of internet and I did not need to spend a lot of time searching.

Second, internet doesn’t have as much of an environmental impact. It does not use paper and as a result, no trees have to be cut down. The environmental impact of using internet is much less than compared to using the old-fashioned paper books. No paper factories are needed and no carbon emissions are made. No habitats need to be destroyed or forests wiped out. For example, I just read an article online, stating that for every 8 average sized books produced, one tree is cut. So, you can see that producing paper books is a huge cost and a very inefficient way, but the internet has no such cost.

In sum, I believe that internet has contributed a lot to the field of research. By providing countless numbers of materials and resources to researchers, enabling them to do their research without the need of transportation and also by having less destructive impacts on nature and natural resources. I strongly believe that researchers should use the internet more often, and in general, it is a good idea that people should reduce their use of paper books and use online books more often.