Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to use printed material such as books and articles to do research than it is to use the Internet.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Books, papers and other research resources play a critical role in doing an appropriate research. Personally, I believe that using online materials can be more helpful than the printed one. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, online resources usually more affordable than printed ones which help us to save our money. Materials in the internet usually use fewer resources, so they cost less than the physical material like printed books and papers. For instance, about three years ago, one of my colleagues, who got a job, spent considerable amount of time on work to earn enough money. Most of his salary spent on printed books. However, next year, he decided to use resources on the web, and worked for just a part-time job. As a result, his academic performance on the university had been improved. This would not be possible without the use of online resources.

Secondly, resources on the internet usually update more often than printed ones. Accessing to the latest researches is one of the crucial factors in a research. As everybody knows, today world is very competitive, and some research group access to the research paper online before it printed, and continue that research in less than a year and publish the result as a research in a conference. Therefore, we should access to others people research as soon as possible. My own experience is a compelling example of this. Last year, one of my classmate and I started to do a research about machine learning. When we wanted to implement the code, we used an old printed documentary of the code module, but last month the newer version of that was released on the web. Because we used the older version of the documentary, we wasted our time trying to debug our code. Consequently, we missed the research deadline. This would not have happened if we had used the latest version on the web.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that using materials on the web are more beneficial. This is because they are cheaper, and because we can access to the latest version of them as quickly as possible.