Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is important to keep old friends than it is to make new friends. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answers.

From pats time, human beings as social creatures always have looked for others to find good and trusty companions in order to share secrets and spent time. As a result, throughout history, friends have played a prevailing role in human’s success. In this regard, there is a long-standing, heated debate among people about whether it is beneficial to keep old friends or make new friends. Some people are leading proponents of the claim that it is more favorable to strike up friendship with new individuals. However, from my own perspective, this statement is false; as a matter of fact, I fundamentally disagree with such people and I strongly recommend that individuals take their old friends as an essential part of their lives and try to save them. In the subsequence paragraphs, I will delve into two conspicuous reasons to aptly elaborate on my standpoint.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that old friends are plainly aware of our weaknesses and strengthens. In other words, they are familiar with our characteristics. The noteworthy statistics, revealed by recent social ground-breaking research conducted in our country, indicate that one of the integral factors in everyone’s success is friends. Consequently, close and old friends are able to make an excellent contribution to relieve desperation and stress in tough situations and life hardships. In addition, that makes them be such a motivator to help us making improvements and reaching our goals in life. Old friends, therefore, know us better, even better than ourselves and could be supportive.

Furthermore, it is established beyond doubt that trust between two old friends is stronger compared with a recently developed friendship. Seldom do folks could trust people who they have met recently. In fact, nowadays, due to accomplishing their aims, majority of folks do not hesitate defrauding and do what they can even if they do harm to others. Take a personal experience as an example; when I was a student in Tabriz University, the last semester, one of the students, who I did not know him clearly, asked me a favor to send my undergraduate project and he said that he does not copy my assignments. I trusted him and emailed the draft of my project. Unfortunately, he had sent the same project to tutor before I did and I forced to explain whole story to the tutor. Had I not believed him, I would have not faced such difficult situation. Hence, finding such friends to whom you trust and passed that stage of acquiring your trust is scarce.

To wrap it up, contemplating all the aforementioned reasons, one soon realizes that to cement current relationship with old friends instead of making new friends leads more advantageous consequences. In is anticipated that if people strengthen their old friendships, they will take advantage of such friends as contributing factor in thriving in life.