Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Few would deny that we are immersed in the flow of information while we still starve for knowledge. Recently the issue of whether to get to know everything that happening around the whole world has concentrated much public attention. While some may claim that there is no need to acquire news that is not relevant to them, I still insist that it is of vital importance to keep actively noticed of the new tendency especially when comprehensive factors are taken into consideration.

To begin with, keeping the news acquainted is auspicious for our economic command. To be more specific, all events happen for some certain reasons so a single accident may leave various severe consequences, which is also called the 'Butterfly Effect'. Taking my father's personal experience as an instance, he has been investing in stocks for over five years and he decided to quit the stock market last year. When I consulted him about the reason why he gave up continuing the investment that seemed to possess an increasing interest rate. He just told me that the Covid-19 quarantine period would leave a disastrous influence on the economy in all aspects so the wisest way to recover from the loss was to quit right now. And the economic downside later stands for a compelling piece of evidence of his words.

Furthermore, getting to know the news facilitates our communication skills. There is an ocean of examples coming from the occasions that we meet some new friends. When we are not familiar with each other and we are not able to follow the interest of others, chatting about the news that happened recently is a perfect choice to start a conversation. For instance, we might discuss the new policy for global students at Hong Kong University with our new friends. When they make comments from their perspective, we are capable of knowing their personality as well as their view of the world. In consequence, our communication skills could improve at a relatively rapid speed and we are also able to decide whether we are suitable to make friends with someone we meet in a short period of time.

Moreover, learning about the news that might seem far away from us actually broadens our horizons. In essence, we ought to be persistent to keep learning as much as possible for our future academic and career success. There is no doubt that success requires an exhaustive understanding of all situations, diligence as well as talent, which are all so critical that we are not able to ignore each one. In consequence, following the latest news around the whole world will definitely be beneficial to intellectualize ourselves so that we could be more composed when we have to face barriers or complex conditions.

All the reasons discussed above confirm a strong conclusion that it is necessary to become acquainted with global news even if it might seem irrelevant to us. From my perspective, the virtues of the keep informed in terms of better economic management, enhancement of communication skills as well as expanding horizons are never too much to be exalted.