Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Providing Internet access is just as important as other services, such as building roads, so governments should offer Internet access to all of their citizens at no cost. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Upon the arrival of the digital era, people are concerning more and more about the Internet services that their government can provide them. Some people maintain that it is of vital importance for the government to offer free Internet access to all its citizens. While from my perspective, I would stand on the opposite side for a few primary reasons that I will illustrate in the following.

In the first place, there is no doubt that the budget for providing free Internet access will be an arduous burden not only to the government but also to the citizens. Internet access to all citizens means more investment in the construction of the Internet, from which more taxes would also result. To be more explicit, more Internet accesses need more fiber cables to connect further districts and more cost of repairing and restoring the pieces of equipment. Consequently, the economic burden will be exerted on all the citizens, which might cause more extreme problems for the impoverished families that are already struggling to make a living.

Furthermore, it is definitely unpredictable for the government to provide free Internet access without any discrimination. For instance, it might provide more opportunities for hackers to attack the government's Internet and even some essential computer systems. In addition, with more people contacting the Internet, the contents on the Internet will become harder and harder for the government to administrate, which might lead to more harmful information flows. With the loader complaining voices of parents about their children learning something terrible from the Internet, it is essential that more strict rules for contacting the Internet ought to be executed. Nothing can be more regretful than some children getting to know something violent or R-rated by just a glance at the web pages bouncing to their eyes. Charging Internet access and real-name authentication will efficiently decrease the odds of such things by setting a relatively high threshold to get contacted with the Internet.

Moreover, Internet access at no cost offers people more digital addicting entertainment so that relationships between people will become more and more distant. We have all encountered situations where we automatically bow to play on our mobile phones and become silent after finishing dinner even if we are meeting with friends that have not seen for a long time. This sort of embarrassment could be avoided by being less dependent on the Internet to provide us with comfort and entertainment that are designed to get us addicted. If free Internet access is not available, more and more people will consider the cost of the Internet and return to their original life so that they can build stronger connections with their acquaintances.

To put it into a nutshell, with great appreciation of the convenience and pleasure that the Internet provides us, I still insist that the government ill behooves to offer free access to all citizens for its heavy economic burden, insidious effects owing to no discrimination, and more distance with social connections.