Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Throughout history, mass media, such as newspapers, televisions, and the internet have assisted in order to inform people of various events happening around them in different countries. One of the most challenging topics on which there is no consensus among people is about the importance of being aware of all the news. Opinions are divided into whether people should be informed of the latest news, or some news is not of great priority to be aware of them. When it comes to me, it is my firm conviction that, although the news improves a person's inspiration for reading, not all the events worth knowing. To support this, there are several reasons, two of which are going to be aptly explored in the following essay.

First and foremost, without a shadow of a doubt, people are enslaved by their tasks and jobs. Also each country has its circumstances, which may make people's lives intolerable in various facets. In other words, people are overly burdened with multiplicity chores, which put them under a great amount of pressure and tension. Moreover, reading about tragic news and events have happened around the world not only useful for them but also would make their mental situation even frailer. Take my personal experience as a compelling example of this, a couple of years ago, when I lived in a dormitory, far away from my parents; therefore, I chose reading to make myself busy and forget how much I was homesick. In those days, I had read about an airplane crash, which I wish I would not. In consequence, those days were noticeably abysmal.

Another worthwhile reason to be mentioned is that reading or hearing the latest news may be time-consuming. People can use their time more effectively and productively, which ends up in nothing but a prosperous life and social status. As a result, it would be beneficial for one to be concentrated on his/her tasks and follow the news that can be utilized in one's job. For instance, my colleague lost the opportunity of promotion because he was always spending time excessively reading about news on the internet and gets behind his schedules.

In summary of what has been illustrated and discussed in detail, it is a foregone conclusion that it is not necessary to know everything that has occurred around the world. The fact that in this way, people get depressed and mentally ill, coupled with squandering precious time of life, is the reason which strengthens my claim.