Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Learning knows no bound. Some people believe that people should only concentrate on the fields or the events that would add value to their life. However, if I were asked I would definitely think that people should always know about the event happening around them despite the fact that it has no direct connection with their daily life. I firmly believe this way because of several reasons, and I will elaborate on these in the subsequent paragraphs.

First and foremost, knowing about multiple events aids to broaden your knowledge. Apart from your day to day work, when you invest your time to know about other events or activities happening around you, you get to know about multiple cultures, people's thinking which makes a huge impact on enriching your personality. Many television channels provides range of programs covering art, history, lifestyle of different people from different country. As a result, watching these shows, you get to know about the sculptures, history of different places all over the world. My opinion on this matter is profoundly influenced by my own experience. You see, I am a software engineer. Although I am a science major, I had interest about attending the events based on the ancient art from my childhood. I kept my interest alive and I spent my leisure time attending seminars, going to exhibition to know more about it. There I meet new people and also know about their culture. As a result, it helps me broaden my knowledge. For this reason, If I had never invested my time on other events apart from my own field, I would have never been so enthusiastic about art.

Secondly, being aware of the activities around you helps you to be a responsible citizen. When you keep your eye on other activities like sports, politics, society etc, you get to know about all other aspects which you should know for being a citizen. As a result, you can express your views on those matter for the betterment of your community and so country. Drawing from my own experience, from my childhood itself, I used to watch news every night to keep myself updated with the events happening around me. Last year after a terrible storm attacked out state, West Bengal, many people became homeless. One of the advertisement, I came to know about a group who are donating medicines, foods, shelter to these people and also appealing others to join their group. As a result, on the immediate day itself, I called them from the given phone no in the advertisement and distributed foods to many people in Sundarban. It is certainly clear that unless I had spent my time to know about other event which will not affect my daily life, I would have never involved myself in such a great activity.

To sum up, in the light of the above mentioned point I strongly believe that people should involve themselves to know about events happening around the world. This is because it has a great impact on making enhancing your knowledge as well as makes your a better human being.