Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Innovation has both positive and negative impact on the society. Although some people believe that playing computer games helps children to improve their imagination capabilities, however, I strongly believe that it can significantly affect children's life both physically and mentally. I feel this way because of several reasons, and, I will develop on this ideas in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, playing computer games could bring the communication gap among the parents and their child. After daily hectic life, now a days, the children spend most of their leisure time playing computer games, sometimes in a group with their friends. They hardly have some time help their parents in house chores work, moreover having some discussion about their futures with their parent. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter is profoundly influenced by my own experience. You see, my brother is ten years old now. Everyday, after coming back from school or tution, he got busy playing car race games. Moreover, sometimes he spends his entire evening playing virtual computer games with his friend. I remember, at his age, I used to go to playground besides taking up the responsibility of helping my mother in cooking. As a result. it played an vital role in strengthening my bonding with my parents and at the same time. For this reason, if I would not have spent time with my mother learning cooking as well as helping her, I would not have prepared food for myself while staying in an apartment during my graduation days to keep myself stay fit.

Secondly, playing computer games can cause significant damage to eyes. Now-a-days with the advent of internet, kids utilize resources available in the internet to study. So, if they spent the leisure time for playing the computer games, they are constantly looking the bright computer screen, which can cause retinal detachment. Moreover, they are not having any physical excersize which can hamper their fitness and could be reason for some deadly diseases at early age. Drawing from my own experience, when I was in my school, I used to spend my time sitting in front of desktop for more that eight hours to play chase games. But, after a few months, I started feeling some pain in my eyes, not surprisingly, I ignored and also never told my parents about it. Consequently, the situation got worst and almost after one year, I was diagnosed with holes in my retina and I had to go through surgery. So, it is certainly clear to see that if I would have never been so addicted to spend my time playing computer games, I would not have to pass through such a pathetic time in my life.

In the light of the above mentioned reasons, I strongly believe that children should be prohibited from play computer games for prolonged time period, This is because they can spent those time more productively and can improve their fitness thinking about their future.