Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment—doing things they like to do rather than doing things they should do.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Recently, there has been a ton of debate about whether nowadays people spend most of their time on personal enjoyment. Although some people believe that everyone must have the independence to spend their own life the way they enjoy the most, I believe that along with personal development people must also manage their time on other things, they should do. I firmly believe this way owing to several reasons,  and I will elaborate on these in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, I think that, although the internet has opened up a world full of new opportunities, on the other hand, it has made a negative impact on our society, specifically to the youth. Nowadays students spend most of their time surfing the web like social media. Moreover, they get so addicted that it reduces their concentration level and eventually, it adversely affects their study. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter is profoundly influenced by my own experience. You see, my younger brother stood first in his board exam and so, my father gifted him a new mobile phone. But, the consequence was not at all pleasant. He used to spend most of his time playing online games and he got so distracted that he could not pass the half yearly exam and consequently his teacher asked to meet our parents. As a result, my father had to take the decision to take the mobile phone back from him. For this reason, If my brother had better control of himself and stayed focused on his study, my parents would have never gone though such an embarrassing moment of their life.

Secondly, nowadays, due to more and more channels,  people spend most of their time watching tv. Drawing from my own experience, my uncle who was spending his retired life, used to spend most of his time sitting in one place. He used to watch almost all the tv serials starting from 8 am to 6 pm. Eventually, he started developing diabetic and the doctor prescribed him to take a walk of at least  1 hour everyday. It is certainly clear that if he had spent his time by doing some physical activities, he would have  never been diagnosed with such a deadly disease.

In the light of the above mentioned reasons, I strongly believe that people must utilize their time more productively instead of spending too much time on personal enjoyment.