Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Recently, there has been a ton of debate about whether students should prefer learning facts to understanding ideas and concepts. If  were asked, I would definitely suggest that student must focus on understanding the concepts better instead of learning to many facts about a given topic. I firmly believe this way because of the several reasons, and I will elaborate on this in the subsequent paragraphs. benefited

First and foremost, understanding ideas and concepts plays a very significant role in making the fundamental strong. Its like a tree, covered by many leaves and flowers, but the root of the tree is not strong enough to allow it to stay strong during storm. When the students hold better control over the  fundamental concepts, it aids them to think critically about any given problem on that topic no matter how tough the question is. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter is profoundly influenced by my own experience. You see, mathematics has been one of my favourite subject since my childhood. I used to spend more time to understand why do we need some concepts like derivation, integration, instead of just memorizing the formula. Moreover, I spent time to research on the practical application of each topic which really helped me thoughout my career including my college days. As a result, I was able to secure a gold medal in my college for securing full marks in every examination.  For this reason, if I would have never understand the  topics well I would have never realized how interesting this subject is.

Secondly, understanding the concepts well helps student in their professional life too. When a student have a better depth on a subject, he would be in better position to apply the concepts in his or her career to solve some critical problems. Drawing from my own experience, I am privileged to get the opportunity to work with a legend, my team lead, in my first company. While working there, I still remember the night when we were trying solve a critical bug of our software, which could cost approximately a few billion dollar to our company unless solved by that night itself. Our team lead, Susovon had a great understanding about computer network. He quickly analyzed the problem and found out that there were some issue with the network itself. Therefore, we were able to conquer the problem through his guidance. For this reason, I strongly believe that its more important to put effort to understand the concepts better.

In the light of the above mentioned points, I believe that students must invest their time to know the concepts and ideas well, rather that only learning the facts.