You have been told that dormitory rooms at your university must be shared by two students. Would you rather have the university assign a student to share a room with you, or would you rather choose your own roommate? Use specific reasons and details to explain your answer.

There are certain qualities that we look for while choosing roommates. Although some students believe that they would prefer the university assign a student to share a room with to avoid spending time on something of less importance in their college life, however, I would always prefer to choose my roommate by my own based on certain qualities. I firmly believe this way owing to several reasons, and I will elaborate on these ideas in subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, when it comes to choosing a roommate, I would definitely look for a roommate who is open minded and willing to cooperate in every aspect. While living in a dormitory, we usually share the electricity bill, food,  rent, to name a few. Needless to say, every household chore demands the people to be co-operative. It is not always possible to get someone who is compatible in every aspect so that no conflict arises between them. Rather, it is more important that the roommates are always eager to resolve any issue no matter how difficult it is to overcome in our daily life. Unless someone is very open to listen to you, it's quite impossible to stay with him or her. I have to admit that  My opinion on this matter is profoundly influenced by my own experience. You see, when I was doing my graduation, I stayed in a university dormitory with Rita for four years. Regardless of whether she was from a different religion, she was so co-operative that we managed to share every household work from the initial day itself. Moreover, She was so kind and always used to address any problem with an open mindset and I strongly believe that this is very rare to find. For this reason, if I let the university choose a roommate for me, I would have never spent my dormitory life so peacefully like I did.

Secondly, students aim to enter the universities in order to  gain knowledge. Group studies play an important role in our college days. Sharing room contributes to group study in a great way as students may have some discussion at their convenience to make their concepts better. Moreover, They can share their notes and prepare for the examination together. Drawing from my own experience, during my college days, I remember when I used to stay with Rita, we used to make routines to follow everyday so that we don't face difficulties before the exam. Moreover, we used to discuss every topic the professor teaches in classes. From the first day only, we made a habit of solving competitive programming questions which really helped us in landing a good job after completing our graduation. So it's certainly clear to say that I made the best decision to choose my roommates on my own.

In light of the above mentioned reasons, I would definitely like to choose my roommates by my own instead of letting the university arrange for me.