Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school.

Do you think this is a good idea?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

No body can deny that there are both the positive and negative aspects of offering money to a school-age children for each high grade he or she get in school. If I were asked I would definitely prefer not giving any money to the kid for every good score. I firmly believe this way because of the several reasons, and I will elaborate on this in the subsequent paragraphs.

First and foremost, offering money every time for every high grade can have an negative impact on shaping the student's future. Sometimes, parents provide pocket money to their kid for securing very high score in some exam. But the situation can get worse if this is repeated for each high mark. A student may try to avoid studying in detail and they might only focus on preparing for the exam to get those money without gaining much knowledge on the subject matter. My opinion on this matter is profoundly influenced by my own experience. You see, my brother is 5 years younger than me. He used to secure very good score in every exams since he joined the high school. My parents were very happy about it and they used to buy expensive gifts after announcement of every results to encourage him to be more attentive. But, they never looked into how much depth of knowledge he was having in each subject as he used to memorize the concepts instead of understanding the logic behind it. Because his target was to get the lucrative gift from parents and he used to showoff with those money in front of his friends in school. As a result, during their board examination, mathematics question was a bit tricky, all the problems needed a detailed understanding of each topics and he failed the exam as he was lagging the concepts. For this reason, if my parents would have never handed him gifts for each good score, my brother would have passed the exam with good score.

Secondly, sometimes, the money, students get from their parents utilizes in a bad way. It is quite common that, students spend those money with their friends for enjoyment. But, parents don't get to know if their kids are committing any thing wrong with those money. Drawing from my own experience, I have seen my neighbours used to offer money to their children for if they score more than their expectation. However, they never thought about what they are doing with those money. One day, my father caught them red handed. He found they were spending those money on some illegal activities and informed their parents about it. So it is certainly clear that unless the student has any good purpose to spend those money on, parents should not give them right away for every good score.

To sum up, in the light of the above mentioned points, I strongly believe that parents should think twice before offering money to their children for each high score. This is because, this may hamper their child's study and they may not use those money wisely.