Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Recently there has been a ton of debate about whether there will be an increase in the number of vehicles in the next twenty years. Although some people believe that demand for cars in the near future will drop significantly, I believe that the line curve of this figure with respect to time will continue to rise up. I firmly believe this way owing to several reasons, and  I will elaborate on this idea in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, one of the driving factors behind this is increased population over time. As the population increases, the more no of people will start availing public transport. The increase in the demand of public transports will lead to an increase in the number of vehicles, like bus, auto, train etc. Moreover, this will increase traffic congestion, and hence, more time will be wasted waiting on the traffic. I have to admit that my opinion on this matter is profoundly influenced by my own experience. You see, while working in my first company in 2016, I used to travel via train for around 2 hours to commute to the office . I used to get frustrated as I used to spend this entire time doing no productive work. Moreover, I got so stressed after reaching the office that I couldn't even concentrate on my work. As a result, I had to buy my own car. For this reason, I believe that along with the increase in the number of public vehicles, there will be a high demand for private cars as well.

Secondly, another important factor is that due to increased economic pressure automobile companies are setting less price of the cars to attract more customers. Due to the less expensive car, middle class people can afford their own private car. Moreover, having a private car is a 'status symbol' in current society. Drawing from my own experience, after completing my graduation, when I joined industry, I was searching for flats near my office. However, with only 6 lpa salary, I could only afford a car as Hyundai company was offering discounts on the first purchase. It is certainly clear that If I had never made this decision, I would never utilize my time properly by cutting down the time wasted on traffic.

In the light of the above mentioned points, I strongly believe that there will be high demand for cars in the twenty years. This is because of increased population and improvement in the automobile industry.