Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is impossible

to always be completely honest with your friends.

It goes without saying that interpersonal connection between people can play a pivotal part in everyone’s life. Being a hundred percent honest with friends has always been a matter of hot debate. While some hold the view that friends must always tell each other the truth, others consider this trend impractical. Personally, I believe that although honesty is the best policy, there are some exceptions that people can not be totally honest in their companionships. The reasons substantiating my standpoint are elaborated hereunder.

To begin with, everyone needs privacy, and they can not tell all the secrets about their private lives, which may cause some trouble for them when their friendships end. To be more specific, in today’s world, even the most intimate relationships are prone to be broken up. Myriads of friends turn to foes after they sever their connection. Therefore, opening up about every detail of private life does not seem a sensible way of interaction with friends. My sister’s experience is a convincing example of this. When she was studying at university, she used to have a peer with whom she spent most of her time. They would talk with each other about their lovers, and sometimes, my sister complained about her boyfriend’s behaviors. Unfortunately, their friendship ended after graduation. However, after my sister married her fiance, her friend revealed a mean streak and disclosed all my sister’s secrets to her husband. As a result, it broke the trust between my sister and her spouse. Thereby, she had to deal with several relationship issues afterward.

Secondly, being fully honest with companions can hurt their feelings at times. To put this idea into a more vivid picture, there are some occasions in which being brutally honest with someone else can lower his self-esteem. It is much more critical when the one we are having a conversation with is our loved ones or our friends. It is crystal clear that no one tends to upset his friend. Therefore, telling a white lie would be considered an intelligent way of keeping our friends’ self-confidence high. For instance, last week, one of my close friends got a new haircut and came to me for my opinion about her look. She was so pleased with her hairstyle that even though it looked terrible to me, I started to make some compliments about her new appearance. Needless to say, her happiness was more important to me than being totally frank with her. After all, a minor lie about an insignificant matter would not cause any trouble, but it might keep her even more delighted and confident.

As shown above, one could conclude that there are several times in people’s lives that they can not keep being honest with their friends. It is because always telling the truth about private affairs of life may result in future troubles and because individuals may upset their peers by speaking about their actual thoughts.