Do you agree or disagree with the following statement It is more effective to study in a group of students than to study alone

Some people believe that the group studying is a effective studying method compared to studying alone. However, in my opinion, studying alone is more effective than to study in a group thanks to time efficiency and stress management.

To begin with, studying alone can help people to save time. If a group plan to study together in specific place, the members of the group have to reassign their schedules to participate the group-studying. In contrast, study alone in a comfortable place such as home is more effective to manage peoples’ time-table. For example, when I was in my university years, I joined a study group to develop my writing skill. However, due to the groups’ hard training, the memebers of the group demanded to gather over 12 hours a week. I thought that requirement is not appropriate and signed out the group. However, after constant efforts that I made every evening for 30 minutes, my writing skill had increased siginificantly and I also achieved a good score in many writing assignments.

On top of that, studying alone can reduce peoples’ stress level. Participating in a group to study results in comparisons between the members within the group. Some people who have inferior abilities than other memebers tend to feel the stress. As time goes by, the stress surpasses origin benefits of the group-studying and gives negative consequnces to the inferior members. For example, as I have mentioned, I participated in a group to study to increase my academic writing. One of member in that group was a master-degree student, who have majored Korean literature when he was a undergraduate. He sometimes used extremely complex words and sophiscated sentence structures, so that I felt inferiority for myself comparing my poor writing skill with his tremendous one. After quitting the comparison, however, I genuinely could develop my writing having a daily satisfaction of a continuing progression.

To sum up, if someone study alone, he can manage his time well and can reduce stress from a comparison with someone eles. Therefore, I insist that studying alone is better than study in a group.