Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important to read or watch the news presented by people whose views are similar to your own than by people whose views are different from yours.

It goes without saying that in this sophisticated and progressive era in which we live in, all human beings are always striving to have the best viewpoint and perspective toward subjects because this actually plays a pivotal and crucial role in our decision. Whereas some individuals debate that it is much better to read the news from sources which their standpoints are a close resemblance to our perspective, on the other side of the continuum, stand others, believing that reading and watching the news presented by persons who have different points of view from us is more significant. As far as I am concerned, I categorically concur with the second mental attitude. In the ensuing essay, my perspective will be substantiated by underlying and conspicuous reasons.

To begin with, one of the most paramount points through reading or watching news from different views is that it helps us to increase our general knowledge about the subject and being familiar with other people’s mental attitude and points of view. This dramatically affects our decisions in the future and helps us make a better decision. An example can successfully drive this notion home. Several years ago, I participated in the presidential election. Initially, I decided to Hassan Rouhani because I really thought that he was successful in all his discussions with other candidates. However, when I talked to my friends which their points of view did not fit with me, I realized that he is actually not the appropriate candidate who can assist my country to become prosperous in the future. Therefore, those arguments positively affect my decision in the election.

Moreover, it is no secret to anyone and all individuals in the world are not complete, consequently, it is possible that their attitudes toward the news may be not true. To be more specific, if a person read or listen to the views which are not analogous to his attitude, he will be able to evaluate different ways of thinking and finally find the best one which is effectively constructive and instructive. An example can shed some light on this subject. A time when I was studying in elementary school, I was really interested in following the news related to my favorite team from a national source in my country. I remembered that an argument happened between two players, and as a result, a player was kicked off from the team. That source analyzed that he is delinquent. Under such a circumstance, if I did not talk to my friends about this, it would not have revealed to me that that source’ news and my attitude was obviously wrong.

To wrap it up, taking into account the aforementioned reasons and examples, I am of opinion that watching the news represented from different points of view is more paramount than reading them form resources which have the same mental attitude like us. This is because we will be able to be acquainted with other constructive standpoints and also will cause to change our viewpoint if it is not correct.