Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Teaching method for students is of paramount importance to every educators to concern about. Some people argue that understanding ideas and concepts are more important than learn facts for students. I agree with this statement.

Granted, learning facts is important to students in some subjects like history. There were many historical events happened; if a students just recited all these events, it is hard to say the student has got the sense of true knowledge of history. The student has to draw on the fact that why this historical event occurred and what can people learn from it. There is a famous line said that “Taking history as a mirror, we could know what we lost”. It takes more than ideas and concepts to realize this subject.

However, some curriculums have no necessary to know the facts. Take math as an example. Math has a lot of equation and professional calculating formula, which had taken significant time to prove it is right. Moreover, students do not need to use them with knowing the math fact. And physics, Newton dedicate his whole life to prove three principles of laws of mechanics, which is easy to understand the ideas and concepts but hard to get a sense of facts.

In addition, students have a wide range of curriculums to learn. Concepts and ideas are enough to take the examination. Take myself as an example. When I an a high school students and some questions always bothering me like what is the fact of math, which impact my examination score. Because that questions are time consumer. My teacher told me that ideas and concepts are enough to deal with examination and as a high student, my primary task is get the high score. Therefore, I stop thinking about facts and take as many as ideas and concepts to get high score.

In conclusion, knowing facts is important to some subject, but as a student, drawing on ideas and concepts are more necessary and come in handy. So, I agree with the statement.