do you agree or disagree with the following statement? is it more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends?

A controversial question which is often raised regarding friendship is whether or not making new friends is less important than keeping the old ones? I personally hold the viewpoint that holding on to old friends due to some reasons is of a higher importance. In the following paragraphs my reasons are demonstrated.

Firstly, it is generally agreed that people are more convenient with their fellows, meaning in terms of friendship one individual based on what we call familiarity could have more comfort and the sense of belonging when the reunite with their old friends. To depict this idea further, old friends are more known to us, we are well aware of each other moralities and tempers and the time spent together led to loyalty and allegiance which you mostly can not find in new folks. A personal example of this claim is that I myself am much more comfortable when I hang around with my old friend and I can be myself, no necessity of pretending what I am not.

Secondly, when it comes to compassion and better advising old friends have shown a better promise, to shed light upon this assumption, imagine a person whom you have a lifetime friendship with, in this period many incidents and memories were made which have created a strong bond between them ,therefore, when we encounter a complexity and a quarrel we can depend on their assistance which led to this idiom that says a friend in need is a friend indeed.

Finally, In spite of making new friends which would be fair to say they usually broaden our horizons and they reregulate our path, old friends encourage us to be straight to our cause. moreover, according to the awareness they have on our weak points and strong point they know better than any stranger that in which path we can perform better seeing us from a better secured and sympathetic position outside.

In conclusion, based on aforementioned reasons above one could realize that, although it can be in our benefit to make new friendships, it is more vital to keep our old friendships due to the loyalty, compassion and clearer future we can get from old fellowships.