do you agree or disagree with the following statement? it is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Whether keeping old friends or seeking for new ones have been a matter of argumentation for a long time. On one hand, some people think that keeping old friends is beneficial since these friendships will last for ever. On the other hand, the aficionados of finding new relationships support this idea that it will definitely be more beneficial for their future. Although maintaining the frindship with old friends is more accepted and pleasant among people, personally, I uphold with the idea of finding new friends because it can be more useful in my life. The answer of this question through my point of view in threefold. In the following, I will elaborate my solid proofs for this convoluted question.

First, having new friends and building new relationships can be useful for an individual inasmuch as he or she can benefit from new ideas which are generated from that friendship. For instance, when I was studying my master's in IUST university, I fraternized with one of my seniors'. Sequentially, we aimed to fund our own company; therefore, we had worked together for about two years, which was financially beneficial for both of us. This benefit was concluded from developing a whole new friendship, which was a great experience for me.

Second, building new friendships and relations can be profitable through the lens of political issues. For example, there was a seasoned engineer in our family who was very good and professional at developing new friends. Once, he planned to nominate for a senior management role in the city. Since he had diverse friends, he was easily elected owing to the fact that his friends voted for him.

Finally, socializing is considered as one of the healthiest actions for elderly people. The more a person socialize and find new friends, the less mental illnesses he/ she will have. My grandmother, for example, has not been a social person in her life, so she suffers from alzymer in her 80's. On the other hand, her sister has many retired friends to whom she speaks at least four hours a day; therefore, she fills no pain neither physically nor mentally.

In conlusion, having more friends ( as an action of socializing) have a preponderance of values for individuals. It will help people to develop their work financially and politically. Moreover, it will benefit their own bodies insomuch as socializing can prevent or at least postpone mental problems. However, this issue is really complex and one can not fully jugde about it. We can both have our old friends and have new ones.