Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Friends in our life depends what kind of life we live, so making friends is indeed an important part of our life. The time we know our friends is not the correct criterion to value a friend how it is important to us. Making new friends is the same important as keeping old friends.

Old friends are meaningful to us for the days we go through together. We enjoyed the same movies and hung out for happiness. They helped you when you were in trouble and they comforted you when you were in a bad mood. The days we spent together are so happy that we think we can be friends forever. But things always change in an unexpected way and you cannot imagine what will happen in the next few minutes.

Old friends cannot always accompany you when you go to a new place. In modern society, most people have to go to the university which is not built in their hometown. You and your friends cannot always be together if you two choose different schools. Making new friends is helpful for you to adjust to a new environment. If you move to a new city or a new country, making some local friends is the most urgent thing to fit in the new environment. The places we live are changing, so the friends we make are changing. If we do not make new friends, we will be locked in a small community which is contact a little with the world outside and we may not keep in with changes.

Also, old friends used to be your new friends. A baby who is just born definitely has no friends and nobody is born with so many friends. You can do things which you have done with your old friends again by making new friends and you may feel various with the times you have done before. Then those new friends become old friends who are valuable in your life.

Making new friends is as important as keeping old friends for new friends will become old friends in the future and you need them when you move to a place.