Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation.

Public transportation has always been an important backbone of cities. However, we are now entering a society which relies more on the Internet. I think that it is more necessary for governments to support Internet access rather than public transportation.

First, as far as I'm concerned, improving Internet access is actually more cost-effective than the other. While sometimes they serve the same purpose, renovating public transportation requires more amount of money since it includes building or purchasing extensive hardware and labor. For instance, if the government wants to construct a new subway route, they may need to spend money on setting up construction sites, employing workers or buying new trains. On the other hand, cost for improving Internet access, which only requires equipment with smaller sizes and a small pool of intelligent workers, is less expensive.

Furthermore, Internet can serve as important tools which public transportation cannot substitute for, however in contrast, public transportation can be easily replaced by Internet services from many aspects. For example, the revolution of the Internet has fascinated the trend of adapting to a more flexible working style. That is, many people shift to working from home, by which they do not have to spend any time on commuting to different places. This has certainly decreased the demand of public transportation.

Last but not least, reliance on Internet services has been surging up nowadays. Therefore, a nation can effectively stand out if they foster its citizens Internet knowledge and usage. What's more, Internet services can enhance people's life quality, which can thus encourage them to pursue things that will benefit the whole society. A common example is that some poor people living in rural places will spend less effort on traveling through far distances in order to buy necessities. By using the Internet, all they need to do is stay inside, click on buttons, and wait for goods to appear. Hence, they can save time on trying to improve their economic status and paying back to the society.

To wrap up, I believe that spending money on improving Internet access is much more essential than working on public transportation.