Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Which one is more important for students? Ideas and concepts or facts? I think the ideas and concepts have the higher rank. Facts are formed by concepts. In different working environments, facts can be varied which is not suit for every student. It is better to teach students the basic ideas instead of the lesser important facts that can be normally seen.

Facts can be explained by concepts while the latter cannot be expand by the former. Dropping objects in many ways can bring only one result: the object will eventually fall on the ground. This is a fact and the idea of it is the gravity. Once students have the idea about gravity they can understand the fact easily. If students omit the scientific concepts, there is no way to explain the facts that happen daily.

Different work acquire different facts knowledge which is too unrealistic for people to learn when they are still students. For example, a scientist and a product manager know different facts in their major aspects. However, they should both share the same idea on honesty, humbleness, and other ethics. These moral ideas are more important than facts such as what elements can cause blaster or any other facts that does not fit every student's need in the future.

Students come to school for learning knowledge that can hardly be learned in other places. Facts happen every day while concepts and ideas are hidden behind those facts. Without professional help, it is not easy for students to discover the concepts and ideas by themselves. And students should cherish the limited time when their only job is to learn in school.

Fact is to the concept as leaf is to the root. The initial ideas are superior to the minor facts. That is the main reason why ideas and concepts are more important than facts especially that the concepts can hardly be understand without teacher's introduction. The importance of concepts and ideas cannot be emphasized more.