Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people think that it is more essential to keep old friends because it is easier to maintain and they know our interested areas better. However, I disagree with the statement and think that in the 21st century making new friends is a more necessary phenomenon because of the following reasons.

First of all, new friendship always helps people to develop a new perspective. For example, at the university level, I met with some new people and made friends with them, and gradually my viewpoint about life was changed. They used to see life pleasantly while my old friends of schools and colleges were seen the life as a burdensome ways like to work more and more. Therefore, new friends assist me to improve my views of perception and I feel more relax and charm. Developing a new horizon boosts people's knowledge and makes people more competent.

Secondly, making friendship always advances one's communication skills and makes people more sociable. For example, previously, I felt shy to start a conversation with others and became lonely. In contrast, after coming to the USA I meet with different countries people and make friends with them. And I realize I am now more social and can communicate with anyone without any hesitation. Hence, building a new friend leverages people to become more confident and in turn, helps to achieve a prosperous career in the long run.

In third, it is the general need of the people to make new friends to better adjust in the new places through reducing stress and anxiety. For instance, in my new workplace, I experienced some nervousness and could not focus on my work. After a while, I talked with some of my coworkers and became friends. Consequently, it made me happy and better able to perform my task. For practical reasons, it is more valuable criteria to make new friends. As people are human beings and can not live without friends. In a recent survey of New York University is shown that more than 70% of people can become successful in their new places because of the friendship of the coworkers.

In conclusion, It can be said that constructing friendships with new people is a crucial need for people as it makes people to become more confident, successful, competitive, pleasure, and mental satisfaction.