Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In today’s turbulent economic environment, it is difficult for governments to decide which areas they should spend money on. Some people believe that it is important to spend money improving internet access, while others feel that it is preferable to prioritize public transportation. In my opinion, although the internet is of great importance these days, governments should financially support the public transportation. To support this, there are several reasons, two of which are going to be explored in the following essay.

To begin with, the development of transit services leads to improvements in people’s health in a society. Large cities are faced with a huge increase in car ownership, which not only has a negative effect on the traffic flow, but also contribute to many health problems. Cars emit toxic gases, and if the amount of these gases surpasses the specified limitation, the situation will become perilous, especially for older people and children, who are more vulnerable. As a result of this, people can barely breath fresh air and many lung diseases and other respiratory problems will increase. For example, last week, I read an article in a major newspaper about car pollutions and how it affects people health. According to that article, the research has indicated that when a city suffers from air pollution problem for a couple of days, the number of patients going to a hospital due to respiratory problems and severe headaches reach its highest point in a year. By developing a more efficient public transportation system, the emission of toxic gases will reduce and thus people can enjoy better health.

Moreover, public transportation has an increasingly important role in economic growth of a country. The development in transit services will generate more jobs and for the unemployed population. Also, investment in public transport can influence the functioning of labor market and their productivity, since they can easily use public transport to get to their destinations with lower costs. This increase in using this transit services will result in increased wealth for many companies. My own observation is a compelling example of this. Last year, I visited a manufacturing company that produced wagons. The manager of the company stated that after the recent renovations in the city’s subway system, people tend to use it more often and as a result he had established a second company in order to be able to answer the demands. This example clearly demonstrates how the improvement in public transport system can enable economic growth.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that in order to prevent health problems and enhance economic growth, the government should choose to fund developments in public transit systems rather than the internet.