Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Most people agree that these days rules are quite prevalent and they have become an inseparable aspect of our lives. Some people assert that today the rules are too strict for youngsters, while others hold the opposite view. Personally, I believe that rules play an increasingly important role in the future of our society and are not too strict. The reasons why I feel this way are explored in the following essay.

To begin with, rules can be served as a tool to correct misdemeanors and prevent crimes, which help younger people to be more qualified citizens in their society. Nowadays, there are several kinds of laws being carried out in the society, the purpose of which is to make sure everyone’s behavior is under control. Young people should learn that if they cross a line, they have to pay for it and may be punished. For example if a young man carries a knife and stabs someone on his neck, he should be sentenced to stay in jail for some time. Although this punishment may sound cruel to him at first, it will actually guide him and make him realize his mistake. This will also prevent many other young people from getting a taste of violence and will reduce crime rate in the future. Thus, many rules are set with the intension of warning young people not to go down a dark path, which will benefit them greatly in their future.

Secondly, rules help make adolescence better prepared for their future. Schools are one of the most important places, where teenagers can learn how to behave from they very young ages. For example, when young people start their first job after graduation, the company will require them to work punctually and has strict rules about this. Sometimes if they are late for their work, their annual bonus may diminish to a large extent, due to the fact that their delay might have negative effects on the productivity of the whole company. Hence, nowadays schools need students to be on time and start their classes before 8 a.m, which is intended to help students form a good habit of being punctual.

In conclusion, I believe that in order to become more qualified citizens and be better prepared for their future, younger people should follow many rules, which are not strict at all.