Are people today more willing to help strangers?

Throughout life, there are numerous decisive tasks that increase someone's satisfaction with their lives, and people have to choose their desire task based on their personality. One of these activities is helping strangers, the popularity of which has been called into question lately. Some people believe that in the past the members of the society were more sympathetic and caring, while others feel that the overall inclination toward helping others has increased. Personally, I feel that despite their hectic daily schedule people today are more willing to help others, in comparison to the past. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, social networking sites has caused people to become more aware of what is happening in their surroundings. Since people today spend a huge amount of their time on these sites and application, they are very affected by them. So, it has become easier to notify people where the standards of living of the people is low and also make them emotional so that they start doing something about the situation. My own experience is a compelling example of this. Last year, while I was spending my vacation in a breathtaking beautiful village near my hometown, I encountered some kind villagers with heavy burdens on their backs. They did not have suitable clothes or shoes and they lived in damaged and old houses, where they even did not have basic amenities such as light or water piping. I talked to them about their situation and got their permission to post some photos of their living conditions on my instagram account in order to ask for help. In just a few days many kind volunteers gathered clothes and food for them and some of my friends even started a virtual campaign to help renovate their houses. Without social networking sites, their voices could not have been heard.

Moreover, people today enjoy higher levels of welfare than in the past, so they are more capable to help others. In recent years the average amount of income that people receive has increased. Hence, they can separate a portion of their income to help the people who are in need. In contrast, when people do not have a good income, they are not able to even consider others, since they have problems themselves. For example, my uncle has a profitable firm and he can easily devote parts of its income to the poors.

In conclusion, I believe that today people are more likely to help strangers than in the past. That is because social networking apps have made them more aware and because their level of welfare has increased.