Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Watching television is among the most popular leisure activities in the world today and in many homes it is considered as a good friend. Some people believe that watching tv and movies is only a waste of time, while others believe that this can broaden one’s horizons. Personally, I believe that the negative effects of watching Tv on individuals, especially young people is much more than its positive effects. The reasons why I feel this way are explored in the following essay.

To begin with, television and movies provide the society with a lot of negative role models, which many young people are willing to imitate. These days, the so called “anti-hero” is a big part of popular culture. This is a type of character who acts badly around other people, ignores the society’s rules and has a really misanthropic attitude. Usually this character promotes excessive use of violence and drug use. My own experience is a compelling example of this. When I was in high school, a close friend of mine became a huge fan of these characters. While she started high school as a straight-A student, she later began to watch lots of films, which gave him the impression that taking drugs and fighting with her classmates was a more desirable behavior. As a result, she barely finished high school and is now unemployed. Moreover, she is not in a good mental condition. Had she not watched so many terrible movies, she would not be in such a desparate situation today.

Furthermore, watching television for a long time is detrimental for an individual’s health. People who spend a lot of time in front of Tv, tend to engage in less physical activities. Hence, watching tv has been linked to obesity and many heart diseases. For example, last week, I read an article in a major newspaper about the children’s habit of watching movies a lot and how this habit affects their health. According to that article, research has shown that too much watching tv can increase a child’s chance of acquiring diabetes, obesity and major eye problems such as shortsightedness. Many of these health issues can be prevented by being more physically active and moderating the time spent on tv.

In conclusion, I believe that the downsides of watching tv and movies far outweigh the benefits. That’s because watching tv promotes violence and people may easily imitate what they see and because it can be harmful for one’s health.