Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

When classmates or colleagues communicate about a project in person instead of by e-mail, they will produce better work for the project.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

The world is changing at a rapid pace nowadays and this has created many new ways for communication. Some people believe that colleagues or classmates will gain better results, when they communicate in person rather than emails, while others hold the opposite view. In my opinion, communicating in person is a more ideal choice when doing a project. To support this, there are several reasons, two of which will be explored in the following essay.

To begin with, meeting other classmates or colleagues can help people to convey ideas clearly and accurately. This is because when they meet in person, they can express their ideas by using not only words, but also facial expressions or body language. In contrast, emails can only carry one form of information, words, which is sometimes far from sufficient to express abstract ideas or opinions. My older brother’s experience is a compelling example of this. He is an architect and designs building for costumers along with his colleagues. In the first few months of his career, he often talked to his colleagues about projects with email. Since many of his ideas were abstract or three dimensional, putting them into merely words was an exhausting task. After that, whenever he needs to talk to his colleagues, he would choose to meet them in person, no matter how far they are or how hard arranging a meeting can be. This example demonstrates that meeting in person can allow people to express explicitly what they have in their minds.

Moreover, meeting in person can help everyone in the group focus on their work, thus it increases the efficiency. When students or colleagues communicate about a project by email, many of them may have delay in responding or may even forget to send a quick reply. On the other hand, when members of a group have a face-to face discussion, they have to give their answers instantly, because everyone is waiting. Besides, some groups even ask their members to put their phones away during a meeting, just to make sure everyone is concentrated on their work. My own experience is a compelling example of this. When I was a university student, I was assigned a research paper and I had to complete it with three other student. Since we had a big vacation coming up, the other group members went back to their hometowns and we agreed to complete our work and communicate with email. However, we could not manage to write that paper, since everyone had busy schedules and they could not respond quickly to other’s opinions. As a result of this, we failed the assignment, which was not so hard to complete and lost our chances of becoming top students.

Admittedly, many people believe that communicating via email is more convenient, since everyone can send their replies at any time and place. However, this is true only in theory and in practice many people just forget to answer the emails or check them on a regular basis.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that in order to convey their ideas and opinions clearly and be more efficient, classmates and colleagues should communicate by meeting in person, rather than by emails.