It is more important to read or watch news presented by people whose views are different from your own than it is to read or watch news presented by those whose views are similar to your own.

In this modern world which we are living in, news is of great importance for people, since they like to increase their knowledge and information by being aware of what is happening in the whole world. Personally, I believe that reading or watching news represented by people who have different views is more beneficial for us. I feel this way for some reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, obtaining news from various resources helps people to better distinct the differences between right and wrong. When people hear different views they van better realize all the aspects of an event. In addition, their cognitive ability and critical thinking will be improved. As a result of this, they are better able to analyze the causes of many of their own problems in life and evaluate a problem from many different angles. My uncle, who is a big fan of watching news from different sources is a compelling example of this. One of the main routines he has in his life is listening to different radio news and reading many newspapers. Once I asked him why he bothers to read the same news so many times. After that, he explained that this is not about the news, but about life. He explained that how he has learned to develop critical thinking by evaluating and comparing news from people with different perspectives.

Moreover, when people try to listen to opposing views and contemplate on the ideas that are different from their own, they might realize that maybe their own thoughts are not true and thus become more flexible to change them. Therefore, they become more inclined to change their false beliefs and ready to embrace new ones. For example, last year an election in my home country caused many controversies. Many people believed that the real reason behind all the problems caused was the president. However, when they watched a television debate they understood that they have judged too soon. As a result they changed their idea.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that listening and watching different news provides people with the opportunity to become more critical and more flexible.